Author Topic: Need an Intervention  (Read 2185 times)

dbvirago

• My Words
Need an Intervention
« on: February 10, 2022, 08:01:54 AM »
 I've been practicing for almost 2 years, 2+ hours every day. Happy with some progress, unhappy with others.
My problem is I want to learn everything, right now and my practice schedule reflects that.

On any day, after a 15m warmup, I may work on any of the following:
- 8-10 books
- A dozen different online courses. These aren't random YouTube videos but lessons from various courses I either have paid for, or are a current subscriber.
- Practice the 10 songs I currently consider my 'set'
- Am in various stages of another dozen songs.

Today, for instance, after warmup, I have done or planned the following:
- 15 minutes on a lesson in one of the books.
- Once through my set.
- 5-10 m each on 4 different lessons.
- Replayed songs from set where I stumbled.
- 10 minutes each on 2 new songs.
- 5 m each on 5 songs I hope to play in future.

My schedule and priorities.
I am retired with plenty of time.
I have 2 hours in the morning I can devote to and focus on guitar. I can spend as much time during the rest of the day in smaller chunks as needed.

I perform my set for my wife once a week. My main priority is to improve that. I can do most or all songs very good to perfect in practice, but fumble in performance.

Second priority is to improve fingerstyle technique. Current focus is in blues and learning songs from David Hamburger.
If you've read this far, I admire your patience. When you get through rolling your eyes. I would appreciate any advice. Time and desire are not the problem, but I know I need more focus.

If you had as much time as I do to practice daily, given the above, what would your schedule look like?

Thank you very much for any input or advice. Feeling stressed and frustrated in something that should be fun and relaxing.
One Note on One String

Taylor A10
Taylor 714ce

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member