Author Topic: 12 string strings  (Read 1600 times)

Danbgt

12 string strings
« on: February 01, 2022, 08:07:36 PM »
I’m not a great guitar player. I started playing after retirement. I play fingerstyle. Mostly delta blues, John Fahey and stuff like that. I also play mostly in open C. My open C guitar is a Taylor 312ce 12 fret. I acquired a Taylor 352ce sometime back. A 12 string, also a 12 fret, and have recently become gutsy enough to start fooling with it. Tuned to open C the strings are much too floppy. Lots of buzzing and rattling. Can anyone suggest what strings to use to? I had rather not have to assemble a custom set but will if need be.

Earl

• Veteran Member
  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
Re: 12 string strings
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2022, 10:42:54 AM »
Dan, the typical twelve string light gauge set for E-e tuning is 47-10 gauge, such as D'Addario EJ-38, as are the Elixir twelve string set.  A 0.047" string is pretty light to be tuned down two whole steps from E to C, hence the floppiness.  You might have to get some medium sets like D-Addario EJ-37 (54-12) and mix and match.  You can find string tensions published here:
https://www.elixirstrings.com/support/string-tension-for-tuning-guitar
https://www.daddario.com/globalassets/pdfs/accessories/tension_chart_13934.pdf