Author Topic: Polishing a 414CE so it's now glossy rather than matte (and other stuff)  (Read 19504 times)

MexicoMike

• Veteran Member
I'm new to Taylors, having just purchased a NOS 2008 414CE while visiting in Texas.  But it is quite easy to put a gloss "finish" on  a matte/satin surface.  I have done it on several guitars, most recently a Martin D16.  Takes maybe 30 minutes using some 3M Finesse-it II, available at most any auto parts store.  When completed, it will look exactly like a factory gloss finish.  The only issue is whether you want to "modify" the guitar in that way.  IMO, it's always well worth it but for resale purposes, it may not be a good idea because it won't be "original."  But I will be glossing my 414's back/sides when I get it back home next week.

Just follow the directions on the "Finesse-it" and the sides/back will look like glass. You don't need any tools at all, just the product and an old t-shirt is a polishing pad. Here's a pic of a Martin D16 side that was a matte/satin finish (like a 414) 10 minutes before this pic was taken.

merged topics
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 10:20:52 PM by UTGF-Team »

cigarfan

• Veteran Member
  • If He comes today ...........are you ready?
    • I Ignite!
Hey Mexico ... does that product have any silicone in it?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 10:00:21 PM by UTGF-Team »
Blackbird, Froggy Bottom, Gibson, Goodall, Hatcher,
Kanile'a, Kinnard, Kwasnycia, Martin, Rainsong,
Ryan, Santa Cruz, Taylor, Voyage Air, Weber

MexicoMike

• Veteran Member
No - no silicones.  It is essentially an extremely fine abrasive in a "cream" form used for polishing show-car finishes.  No silicones/waxes/anything like that at all.  It's used extensively in auto/boat re-finishing.  It can polish almost anything to a high gloss finish.  I've used it for years on cars and boat painted/fiberglass surfaces...as well plexiglas/lexan windows AND satin finished guitars! :)
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 10:00:36 PM by UTGF-Team »