Author Topic: Capos  (Read 2489 times)

BuddyO

Capos
« on: March 09, 2021, 01:55:25 PM »
Since I'm a novice with guitars, I've slowly been buying accessories and doing some self-guided learning using Hal Leonard's book and the Fender Play app.
There was a lesson on the Fender app on how to use a capo and it got me thinking.
I seem to remember hearing somewhere that they were bad for your guitar.
I've got an AD17e (Grand Pacific)

Truth or myth?
Do you use one?
Are we better just learning the right chords/transpositions from key to key?
2020 Taylor AD17e

Strumming Fool

• Veteran Member
  • Christi simus non nostri
Re: Capos
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2021, 02:28:04 PM »
A poorly constructed capo can sometimes leave marks on your neck. Other than that, a capo does no harm in any way I've heard about. While they're a bit pricey,  G7 capos work quite well and leave no marks. IMO, capos are not "cheaters". They can expand your vision on the sounds you like to hear in various keys.  Hope this helps!
« Last Edit: March 09, 2021, 04:05:23 PM by Strumming Fool »
My Taylor Grand Auditoriums:

1997 Cujo14 - old growth cedar/black walnut
2014 K24e - master grade koa
2018 Custom GA - bear claw sitka spruce/mahogany
2019 614 - torrified sitka spruce/flamed maple
2020 714 - lutz spruce/rosewood

Earl

• Veteran Member
  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2021, 05:05:44 PM »