Author Topic: Aloha from Captain Cook, HI  (Read 3238 times)

MrHarryReems

• The Kilt Lifters
Aloha from Captain Cook, HI
« on: June 12, 2015, 04:31:01 PM »
Aloha!

I'm a musician living in Captain Cook, HI.  I am part of a Celtic duo here on the island called The Kilt Lifters that I play guitar, flute, and sing in.  My #1 acoustic is a Taylor 814ce, however, I tend to gig more with my Larrivee LV03E due to issues with the Taylor ES system.

I am looking forward to being a productive member of this fine community.

Aloha!

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
  • 7 Mountain Dulcimers!
Re: Aloha from Captain Cook, HI
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2015, 05:17:06 PM »
Welcome to our forum....hope to hear from you in our discussions.
Susie
Taylors: 914 ○ K24ce ○ 414 ○ GSMeK+
Pono Guileles: Mango Baritone Deluxe ○ Mahogany Baritone

Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!

Earl

• Veteran Member
  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2015, 05:21:08 PM »
Start seeking out slack key (ki ho'alu in Hawaiian).  Originally a backup for hula dancers, it has morphed into a fingerstyle instrumental style played in open tunings, most commonly Taro Patch (open G).  Since you mentioned Captain Cook (Kealakekua) I assume you are on the Big Island.  Keep an eye out for Sonny Lim, John Keawe and several others.  Also great snorkeling and scuba diving in the bay near the Captain Cook monument.  Aloha and enjoy!
Taylors:  424-LTD (all koa) and a 114ce that lives with friends in Alaska.  Low maintenance carbon fiber guitars are my "thing" these days, but I will always keep the koa 424.  Several ukulele and bass guitars too. 
*Gone but not forgotten:  a 2001 414ce, 410, 354-LTD twelve string, 314-N, 416-LTD baritone, T5 Classic, 615ce, 2006 GS-K, 1996 (first year) Baby

MrHarryReems

• The Kilt Lifters
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2015, 07:12:06 PM »