Author Topic: 12-fret models  (Read 6991 times)

not darth

• Veteran Member
  • Near the lake in Minnesota.
12-fret models
« on: December 12, 2011, 05:18:53 PM »
I'm thinking about the next guitar (hey, aren't we all?) and one version I've heard good things about are the 12-fret guitars, that is, those where the neck/body junction is at the 12th rather than the traditionally 14th fret. 

Tell me about your 12-fretter, why did you opt for that?  Do you also have a cutaway?  Are you primarily a fingerstylist, flatpicker or a strummer? 
Do you have any regrets or dislikes about that size? 
How about some pix?   :D

I'm just a noob, but I lean toward fingerstyle, and some of the guitars I've got my eye on are the GA5/514 and GA7/714 flavors, as well as the Seagull Artist Mosaic Folk CW and the Seagull Artist Peppino d'Agostino model. 
Thanks!
:)
-K
Member #34
I'm not darth.

Iplay2

Re: 12-fret models
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2011, 05:29:18 PM »
I don't have one, but Taylor's 12 fret all hog LTD GC is a wonderful guitar.  If I was to ever get a 12 fretter, that would be the one I would hunt down.  It was a fingerpicking machine, and still sounded amazing when strummed.  I had never even considered a 12 fret (or a GC for all that matters) until I came across one of those.  Just my opinion based on playing one once.

DennisG

• Veteran Member
  • Veni Vidi Velcro: I came, I saw, I stuck around
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 05:31:49 PM »