Author Topic: Another Happy Taylor Owner.  (Read 3404 times)

Guitar Cowboy

• Veteran Member
Another Happy Taylor Owner.
« on: April 05, 2014, 09:15:27 AM »
I started playing guitar about 35 years ago at 15 years old. The problem is stopped playing about 25 years ago. A couple years ago a friend of mine who was instrumental in starting up various "musical happenings " in my rural community  found out that I used to play and urged me to dust off  my old Yamaha and come out to play at the monthly music night. This is essentially an open mic night followed by a jam  until midnight or whenever the musicians out numbers the audience - whichever comes first.  After several months of playing in the background, as far away from a mic as possible, I finally got the courage to sign up for my own set- solo. Two years later , I am much more comfortable  and am really enjoying it. Maybe some coffee shop stuff is in my future.

So last year I decided after 30 some years I could treat myself to a new guitar. I was determined that I would buy myself a Martin. I didn't want a new guitar - I wanted a Martin.  But I found in the several months I spent shopping around that I kept gravitating back to the Taylors. My "no turning back" point came when I reached up to the top row and pulled down and 816ce- an absolute work of art. Now its mine and I couldn't be happier.

I'll be the first to admit that its too much guitar for me. I'm a self admitted guitar hack . But I justified spending about twice as much should/wanted to with the story about waiting 30+ years and that I would never have to buy another guitar again . It wasn't too much later that the sickness hit . I found myself poking around the Taylor website to see what else was out there. I have a beautiful 816 and I want more ....?

So if anyone has any ideas what would be a good complement to an 816, let me know.

I am looking forward to learning more on this forum
Thanks

Steve
2020 326ce V-class soundhole cutaway prototype