Author Topic: 456, 756, 856 : 12 strings, what to choose ?  (Read 8157 times)

piemfo

456, 756, 856 : 12 strings, what to choose ?
« on: November 07, 2013, 02:51:53 AM »
Hi people  :)

I am a newbie - you'll find my presentation in the dedicated section...

I am currently in the search for a 12 string - i do currently have a Martin D12-28, but i do not like the neck, albeit if the sound is good for me...

I want to replace it with a Taylor and their incredible necks, but i am in a dilemma :

I tried the 356ce, felt in love with the neck, but not with the sound - I prefer rosewood i guess, that's why i choose the Martin.
So i want now to get a taylor in rosewood, and i have at least 3 choices : 856, 756 and the new 456 FLTD...

As it is difficult for me to try them (very poor music stores in paris, especially for 12's...), i wondered if, as they share the same tone woods, those guitars have similar sounds ?

I play essentially for myself, simple stuff like Neil Young or Bob Dylan, classics in fact  :)

Do you have any objective, or/and subjective criterias for my future choice ? And did someone tried the trees and can inform me on the respective soundings ?
The budget is not a real criteria (but i am not again paying less  ;)), as it is a guitar i want to buy for pleasure and for a long time...

Thanks a lot and regards,

piemfo
« Last Edit: November 07, 2013, 02:58:51 AM by piemfo »

ericjungemann

Re: 456, 756, 856 : 12 strings, what to choose ?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 08:33:50 AM »
I've had the GA, Jumbo and GS body Taylor 12 strings.
All good.  Fantastic necks.
In the GS, I've had the 656 and currently have the 556.
Again, both really good.  The 656 was my first ever maple guitar.  I liked it but the 556 sounds much better to me.
Based on my experience, the GS body is the best ever for a 12 string.  Comfortable but with big sound.  But equally, I've had rosewood, sapele, mahogany, rosewood, ovangkol.  I've ended up with mahogany but also like rosewood.