Author Topic: Elixir Nano PB coating fuzzing  (Read 3465 times)

Jannie

Elixir Nano PB coating fuzzing
« on: December 31, 2011, 10:14:49 PM »
I've just been trying out picks on my new GC3 and the G string is getting a fuzzy like hairy surface I guess from the picks, all of the other strings are fine. I posetd on the ACGF and got a few responses, but I'm unsure if maybe I shouldn't be using a pick on these, they are the lights with the Nanoweb coating. Are they more of a string just for fingerpicking with the coatings? I'm completely new to steel string guitars.

DennisG

• Veteran Member
  • Veni Vidi Velcro: I came, I saw, I stuck around
Re: Elixir Nano PB coating fuzzing
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2011, 11:05:59 PM »
No, there's absolutely no reason why new coated strings should start coming apart from using a pick, unless they're not actually new.  It's possible that the guitar was heavily played in the store where you bought it.  But I bash the heck out of my nano lights with a pick, and I've never experienced the problem you describe.  Got any idea how old the strings are?
-------------------------------------
'21 Goodall GC - master redwood/Macassar ebony
'18 Taylor K14-BE
'18 Taylor 114e
'21 Taylor GT Urban Ash
'15 Martin uke

dangrunloh

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2011, 11:06:19 PM »
They all get fuzzy over time and has no effect that I can tell.  I only play with picks, never fingers.  The coating helps up on the fretboard to limit finger squeaks and prevent corrosion there.  I've tried other strings but like the Elixers on my Taylor specifically because it is so bright and responsive that finger squeaks really stand out.  I especially like the sound of the middle strings G-D-A when picked with a heavy gauge pick. The tone is divine on my 414.

You have PB's on your Taylor?  They come with 80/20's from the factory.  I go back and forth.  Love the PB's for strumming but not so much for playing melody where I prefer the pure tone of the 80/20s.

dangrunloh