Author Topic: I've got GAS!  (Read 5640 times)

not darth

• Veteran Member
  • Near the lake in Minnesota.
I've got GAS!
« on: December 20, 2011, 09:41:19 PM »
Had a chance to stop into Guitar Rodeo today, I've had a hankering to look at a 12-fret Taylor for some time now and today was the day!
I knew they had one in stock and it was lucky I went today as there was a hold pending payment on it and by the time I left it was sold.
But, I had a chance to check it out and man, everything I've heard about these is true.  The tonal depth and nuance was pretty amazing, I thought. 
This was a 2011 Spring Ltd GA, edgeburst cedar top with dramatic macassar ebony b/s.  I'm just a novice, so after I plucked around for a bit I asked and Jim kindly put it through the paces, and let me tell you, I got GAS pains bad! 

That guitar is now sold to someone else, which is just as well because I'd been considering going with a BTO but wasn't sure, but after talking at length with Jim I'm convinced that is what I want to do. 
Plus, I found out that unless I go nuts with exotic woods, a BTO is within my budget, I had no idea!

I brought along my GSLJ (~610) so I could compare the sounds, and wow, it's amazing how different they are from each other!
Both great, but easily distinguishable.   The sitka/maple dreadnought is loud, no, it's LOUD, has super clean note distinction, loads of bass and projection, and very, well, precise (currently strung with JP PB's). 
The cedar/ebony 12-fret on the other hand was warm, smooth, complex, and so many other adjectives it's hard to describe.  Looked/felt like it had Elixir's and from the yellow color I'm guessing they were 80/20's, but I could be wrong (I think PB's look more coppery). 
The GSLJ is a keeper, but I think that a nice cedar-topped 12-fret would be a good companion to it, and a fingerstylist's dream. 
Like I said, I've got GAS!
 ;D
-K