Author Topic: Hi from Minnesota! NGD - Academy 12  (Read 1403 times)

FerrisB

Hi from Minnesota! NGD - Academy 12
« on: July 15, 2021, 09:50:15 AM »
Hello from Minnesota! I just purchased a Taylor Academy 12 yesterday - what a great instrument! Some brief history: I have played trombone for about 40+ years in many classical and jazz settings, I've been a band director (now a math teacher), and I started playing electric bass about 3 years ago - playing at church along with other opportunities as they come up. I've always wanted to pursue playing acoustic guitar more seriously - started a few times in my past - but I got frustrated with the playability of the dreadnought (not a Taylor) guitar I had available. Recently I have been trying guitars at my local guitar shop - trying mostly 100 and 200 series guitars that were in stock at various times, but I hadn't been ready to "pull the trigger" on one that was in stock. Then yesterday I stopped by and they had just received an A12 (no electronics) a few days ago. I hadn't tried or considered the Grand Concert body since I think none are available until the 300 series or higher?

Wow - I found the one that "spoke" to me right away in the A12! I had wanted something with a smaller body than the dreadnought I had before, and I'm so glad I found this one - what great balanced tone and awesome playability! I've since checked out some of the promotional videos at Taylor's website on the Academy series, and I greatly appreciate the design approach where every aspect included in these guitars is necessary to provide great tone and playability at this price point - the cost cutting is done on other features. I also really like the Grand Concert body style and tone it provides!

I joined this forum a while ago - but this is my first post - great to be here again!
« Last Edit: July 15, 2021, 09:52:51 AM by FerrisB »
Taylor Academy 12, Yamaha Basses

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
  • 7 Mountain Dulcimers!