Author Topic: Professional setup  (Read 1437 times)

Craig R

Professional setup
« on: February 02, 2020, 10:50:36 AM »
While I have checked everything I know to check, I wonder whether it is worth getting a new-to-me 214ce serviced by a professional.  A Taylor service center is near by.  Without seeing the guitar I'm told the low end of the service might be just over a hundred bucks.

My level of play, I'm a beginner again after nearly 40 years . . . .

Craig R

Taylor 2008 214ce
Epiphone 2011 Les Paul Standard Plain Top
Takamine 1976 F340S

Taylor224

• Veteran Member
Re: Professional setup
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 12:18:12 AM »
I would let someone take a look if you think there is still an issue.  I can’t believe how a proper setup made even my Washburn play much better.   Just my very non-professional opinion.

M
“I’m gonna be a happy idiot, and struggle for the legal tender”

1982 Washburn D10CE/B
2019 Taylor 224CE-K DLX
2019 Taylor 214CE
Guild D1212 12 String

DennisG

• Veteran Member
  • Veni Vidi Velcro: I came, I saw, I stuck around
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2020, 10:51:27 AM »
Craig,

You haven't stated a problem that needs fixing.  Is there one ... or are you thinking that any new guitar needs to be taken in for servicing?
-------------------------------------
'21 Goodall GC - master redwood/Macassar ebony
'18 Taylor K14-BE
'18 Taylor 114e
'21 Taylor GT Urban Ash
'15 Martin uke

Craig R

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2020, 10:09:56 PM »
To my eye, the neck is straight. The action measures about right each fret I have a spec. I just installed new strings. A few frets show wear but no buzz or anything I hear. It stays in tune.

Just wondering if a looksee could uncover something noticeable worth the money.
Craig R

Taylor 2008 214ce
Epiphone 2011 Les Paul Standard Plain Top
Takamine 1976 F340S

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
  • 7 Mountain Dulcimers!
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2020, 06:52:19 AM »