Author Topic: Greetings from the upper midwest  (Read 1904 times)

thin.coyote

Greetings from the upper midwest
« on: January 20, 2012, 04:12:41 PM »
Hi there!  I'm mostly a lurker but I thought I should say hello.  I am just a self-taught beginner (just finished book 1 of the Hal Leonard guitar method; I grew up playing strings so I remembered things about reading music etc.) and I am having a lot of fun.  I started with a Yamaha dreadnought but eventually figured out it was too big for me.  After doing a lot of forum research and many hours in the guitar store I ended up with a Breedlove Passport C250 CMe (full-sized) and I like the tone and size.  I have now figured out that I would prefer a 1 3/4" neck and I really like the Taylor neck feel and the quality up and down the line; I think near the end of this year I can swing something on the order of a GC4 (bright looking pretty guitar with a slightly shorter scale) without angering my wife.  :)
-Jim

jjrpilot-admin

• UTGF Owner
  • Administrator
  • Veteran Member
Re: Greetings from the upper midwest
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 04:59:07 PM »
Glad to have you here Jim!  Welcome and please make yourself at home!   ;D
Col 1:15 "that in everything He might be preeminent."
2016 324 (Mahogany top/Tasmanian Blackwood b&s)
2017 Gibson J-45 Standard

Cindy

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 05:11:42 PM »
Hi Jim and welcome to the forum! :) One advantage of learning music is that a lot of the knowledge can be applied to other instruments. A GC4 is a great guitar...I've thought about getting one of those in the past but wound up with a GA4 instead. Nice to meet you and look forward to hearing more from you! :D
Cindy

barefooter

• West Virginia Hills
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 05:32:55 PM »
Hello thin.coyote,