Author Topic: Greetings from SW MO  (Read 3682 times)

DMBfan41

Greetings from SW MO
« on: December 13, 2011, 12:48:58 PM »
Greetings guitar people!  33 y.o. music lover checking in.

In a galaxy far, far away, I took up the guitar as a more appropriate substitution to substance abuse after becoming a first time father in 2000.  This guitar was a Johnson Thinbody off eBay for less than $150.  I went down to the local shop, picked up a Mel Bay chord book and haven't looked back since.  Learning to play and finger chords on an instrument with excessively high action was a bittersweet blessing.  As I upgraded guitars over the years, my hands thanked me tremendously.

Fast forward a few years, I graduated to an Alvarez RD20SC.  Aside from a Big Baby, this was the only drednaught I would ever own.  I experimented with a Taylor NS for a while but didn't care for the lacking volume I experienced.  The single best purchase I've ever made on anything was the day I picked up my 414CE-L7.  Shortly thereafter, I had a chance to grab a plain jane 214 off craigslist pretty cheap. 

I cut my "learning guitar" teeth on 3 chord wonders, playing with a bunch of old dudes after work.  These weekend jam sessions helped me learn rhythm, chord changes, and volume control when playing with others.  This is when I fell in love with the likes of folk, oldies, acoustic blues, and "other music" that was literally 20-30 years older than I was.  I learned so much around this time and often feel I became more educated about music and life in that short time than I ever did in school or college.