Author Topic: Words of encouragement  (Read 7302 times)

Ptbcath

Words of encouragement
« on: January 22, 2016, 02:28:57 PM »
I have been learning play guitar on a Taylor 110e for the past 6 months. I am writing to gain some words of encouragement. I would like to read some stories on how you “real” guitar players suffered, or were frustrated and maybe even wanted to quit. I recently upped my practice time from 30 mins per day to 60 mins per day to speed up the process. I have an instructor who is extremely patient with me considering I’m in my early 50s and don’t have the dexterity needed to readily reach frets especially with my ring finger. My instructor wants me to form the chords in the air before placing them down on the frets. Some chords came easy enough like D, E, Em, Am, but C, B7 and G7 are killers. Now for some reason even A is not working out. At times I feel like I’m going backwards. Oh, and my lack of finger coordination is evident when I try to pick the correct strings on songs like “House of the Rising Sun” without looking at my strumming hand. I don’t want to whine too much but my strumming tempo needs serious help also.  I figured if some of you would offer your early learning frustrations it would make me feel better and motivate me to keep going strong and not give up. Thanks
2015 Taylor 114e

cgeaves

Re: Words of encouragement
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2016, 04:28:08 PM »