Author Topic: Hello from Oregon  (Read 1882 times)

pw217

Hello from Oregon
« on: February 26, 2015, 06:17:33 PM »
I've always loved Taylor guitars but got away from playing guitar for over a decade. At Christmas, my husband said "what would you like?" and I replied "A guitar, I think. I'd like a Taylor, if I'm going to get what I want."

We went down to the local store and I played them all. I initially thought It'd get a T5zKoa top and just call it good but I'm such an acoustic lover that I was lost as soon as I started playing them. I was really torn between an 814CE that had no electronics and the K24CE. Both, tonally hit sweet spots (although quite different ones) for me.

Anyway, Christmas morning I opened up my new K24ce...my first Taylor

the cat admired but did not touch

My husband also has a couple of Taylor guitars...the Taylor SB Custom and a baby Taylor acoustic as well (that he picked up at Christmastime for himself).

I was sort of surprised, as I ventured out into the forums, how little love is given to Taylors in general. Many mainstream sites are quite dismissive. I love my new guitar though. I've waited a lot of years to choose exactly what I wanted and I could have picked anything...but I always came back to Taylor. So it was nice to see a forum devoted to the brand, "unofficial" or not.

Jersey tuning

• Veteran Member
  • Quid Me Anxius Sum
Re: Hello from Oregon
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2015, 07:18:33 PM »
Welcome.  What a way to make a splash with your first Taylor!   A Koa Taylor is certainly high on my wish list.
CURRENTLY PLAYING

'30 Martin 2-17 solid Mahogany
'97 Tacoma PK-30 Sitka/koa
'99 Alhambra 11C classical cedar/EIR
'05 TAYLOR 614ce 
'07 Breedlove Atlas 12-string Sitka/Mahogany
'10 Froggy Bottom "C" Adi/Brazilian   
'11 TAYLOR BTO GC 12-fret sinker/EIR.  
'14 Alvarez Baritone Sitka/Mahogany
'18 Cordoba hybrid Flamenco Euro Spruce/Ziricote
'23 M. Colbert Baritone Alaskan Sitka/Black Limba multiscale with Manzer wedge