Author Topic: Popping Sound through Amplifier ?  (Read 2565 times)

Guitar Cowboy

• Veteran Member
Popping Sound through Amplifier ?
« on: September 03, 2014, 11:46:49 AM »
 I am very new to playing plugged-in ... not much experience at all and I am playing my first hour-long gig other than the local "open mic" night next week. I have a 2013 816 with ES I  and a Bose Compact L1 . I have noticed while practicing with the guitar  and microphone plugged in , after about 1/2 hour I get a single "pop"  through the speaker. I have not had a chance to try to isolate where the problem is coming from ( guitar, mic, Bose system, one of the cables?), so that is obviously what I have to try to do next. Just wondered if anyone had any suggestions on what it might be and or how to proceed. I guess I'll  be practicing with only one of them plugged in for a while. Thanks for any suggestions you might have.
Steve
2020 326ce V-class soundhole cutaway prototype
(Mahogany/Urban Ash)
2019 E14 Limited Edition V-Class (Spruce/Ebony)
2019 814ce V-Class (Cedar/Rosewood)
2016 GS mini-E Koa
2015 618e 1st Edition (Torrified Spruce/Maple)
2014 K26ce (AA Koa- Wildwood CV) 
1980-something Yamaha  FG345II Dread

Guitar Cowboy

• Veteran Member
Re: Popping Sound through Amplifier ?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2014, 09:28:53 AM »
So I think I was able to isolate the problem to the ES system in my 816. First, I practice with only the mic plugged in to Channel 1 of the Bose L1 Compact. No popping after 1.5 hrs of practice. The next night, I practiced with only the guitar plugged in to Channel 2. And got two pops in about 1.5 hours . Finally, I listened two my MP3 player through Channel 2 for about an hour with no pops. So it appears to be something with the ES. Any ideas on what it might be ?
Steve
(Mahogany/Urban Ash)
2016 GS mini-E Koa

Edward

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2014, 02:03:57 PM »