Author Topic: 114  (Read 3432 times)

Jimmer

• My first Taylor is a GS Mini
« on: August 07, 2013, 11:33:58 AM »
i'm thinking about a 114 new but i have been watching ebay for a used 214 or even a 314.
I have no need for a CE. i just started playing at 58 yrs old about 8 months ago and doubt i'll be playing on stage.
buying new i would have to stay with the 114.. how ever I played a 414 at GC ... wow.
the 114 is a good step up from my Mini in sound and plays beautifully.
not sure what to do :-\
any feed back would be greatly appreciated .. thanks gang
GSMini
214sb

DennisG

• Veteran Member
  • Veni Vidi Velcro: I came, I saw, I stuck around
Re: 114
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 11:52:17 AM »
Jimmer,

It's always dicey trying to tell someone how to spend his or her money, but having bought and sold a few guitars, I've come to the conclusion that it makes a lot of sense to buy the absolute best guitar you can afford.  I can't tell you how many times I've seen people get frugal, only to realize four months later that they should have popped for the better guitar.  If the 414 makes you say "wow," I'd give some serious thought to getting that one.  A short time after you buy it, you likely won't miss the money, but you'll be dazzled by the sound of that guitar forever.
-------------------------------------
'21 Goodall GC - master redwood/Macassar ebony
'18 Taylor K14-BE
'18 Taylor 114e
'21 Taylor GT Urban Ash
'15 Martin uke

jerrytubes

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2013, 12:37:15 PM »
Jimmer,

.......it makes a lot of sense to buy the absolute best guitar you can afford.

Good advice from Dennis.  Take what you would have spent on the 114, sell the mini, and find a nice used 414.

I had a 114(ce) for several years, and recently traded up to a 314(ce).  Although the 114 was good, there's a world of difference, both in playability and appearance (especially after investing an additional three Benjamins upgrading the 314ce).  ;D

Edward

• Global Moderator