Author Topic: Hello All from England  (Read 2915 times)

DiabloRouge

Hello All from England
« on: June 03, 2013, 09:50:13 AM »
Hi
My name is Midge, I am 57 years old and class myself as a total beginner at guitar (if there is a level below that, put me there).
I have always wanted to learn to play but life kept getting in the way.  I actually bought myself a MIM Fender Stratocaster in 1999
which after a short period of enthusiasm got put back into its case and remained there, unloved, until about 9 months ago.  I have PTSD and following a prolonged bout of depression related to this I opened up the case and took the guitar out.  I really wanted to learn to play as a form of relaxation, for nobody else's pleasure but my own, as a kind of therapy I guess?  Well 9 months later I have made very little progress, I have problems with my concentration, also related to the depression and PTSD thing and this makes learning very difficult.  To learn a riff or lick is a big deal for me, but then when I go to learn another, the first one becomes almost forgotten, a bit like Homer Simpson really, my teacher must have the patience of a Saint.  I have lessons twice a month and practice on my own most days, unfortunately I don't know anyone else who I could sit and play with for fun.

What brings me to this forum?  Well after using my strat (I hesitate to call it playing) unplugged for weeks I believe that not hearing my efforts clearly is hampering me even further so I have just ordered a Left Handed GS Mini in mahogany so that I can hear myself better when I practice, Unfortunately it's going to take 6 weeks to take delivery of it as Taylor UK are seemingly out of stock?