Author Topic: 12-strings - am I missing something?  (Read 2535 times)

MexicoMike

• Veteran Member
12-strings - am I missing something?
« on: April 08, 2013, 12:34:17 PM »
I have gone through several 12 strings but so far haven't found one that has any bass to speak of.  Most recently I bought/sold a new Guild 1512.  It is one of their GAD series - made in China.  The instrument is beautifully made, easy to play, etc.  But it has no bass at all.  I put heavy gauge low wound strings on it and lights for the rest of the strings but still sounded too thin.  I've been through Yamahas, Ovations, and Seagull 12's as well recently.  Sold them all.

So I was thinking, since I am new to Taylor, that maybe a Taylor 12 would be a good thing to look at.  But when I went to their website I could only find cutaway models.  I don't want a cutaway 12, I want a regular jumbo or dread.  Did I miss something on the site or do they only make cutaway 12s?

I'm going to be in the Annapolis area for about two months starting in early May and I want to play a few 12s at shops but want a "standard" model so does that leave Taylor out of the mix?

BigSkyTaylorPlayer

• Veteran Member
  • Are we there yet.....
Re: 12-strings - am I missing something?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 12:37:03 PM »
Check out the GA3-12.  Not sure about any Annapolis stores but there is a nice store in Waldorf - Hot Licks and if you come to the beltway Chuck Levin's in Wheaton.

ctkarslake

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2013, 01:09:18 PM »
There is also a GS8-12 that will give you a slightly larger body than the GA3-12.  I imagine the GS would have the most bass of any model Taylor makes today (except the recently released GO, but there is no GO-12 far as I know).