Author Topic: New to forum  (Read 2259 times)

peytone

New to forum
« on: January 08, 2013, 08:21:49 PM »
Hello to all of you out there in Taylor land.

I'm new to this forum and am currently learning about and preparing to purchase a Taylor. Even though I've been playing for 40+ years, I've never owned a Taylor guitar (though I used to play someone else's a lot ;D).  I am considering one of the BTO 12 frets or possibly a Style 2 R Taylor.  It seems to me that Taylors keep evolving and I'm wondering what anyone thinks about the wisdom/stupidity of buying as late as possible into the evolutionary chain.   Another thing I'm curious about is consistency of sound, given that a lot of buying is done over the internet; how much can you rely on the design, model and wood to meet expectations?

I am selling a Bourgeois SJ to finance the Taylor.  Bourgeois have a reputation of being reliable in terms of the sound they produce.  The one I have is outstanding, as well, but not what I need right now, hence my desire to sell or trade for something else.

Anyway, good to be here and look forward to getting to know you.

Peyton Fatherree
Napa, CA

CodeBlueEMT

• Veteran Member
  • In Dog Beers, I've Only Had One
Re: New to forum
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 09:14:36 PM »
 Hi Peyton. Welcome to the UTGF. This is a great site with some awesome members and plenty of guitar knowledge. Enjoy.  :)
Shayne

2023 Gibson Custom '57 Les Paul Goldtop
2017 Taylor T5z Pro SE "Erwin"
2014 Taylor 524ce
2013 Martin 000-28EC Sunburst
2011 Taylor 314ce
2008 Taylor SB-1 Classic
1999 Taylor XXV-DR 25th Anniversary
Hard Knocks Custom Esquire "Miss Bettie"

Captain Jim

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 11:06:32 PM »