Author Topic: New to the forum, not new to Taylor  (Read 2460 times)

imorroy

• I assess...
New to the forum, not new to Taylor
« on: December 10, 2012, 11:02:05 PM »
Hi from Arlington, VA...

Great forum. I used to read AGF until they deleted the Taylor discussion area.

I started playing at age 11, on an old, large Mexican nylon string with a 2 inch wide nut, which was probably pretty good exercise for my small hands.  I've owned late 1990s 310 and 312CE, a 2002 NS72E, and I've owned several Tacomas and Breedloves. 

A week and a half ago I bought an early Christmas present: a 2012 814CE, during a Taylor Road Show. Best guitar I've ever owned.  I also have a 2003 214L3 at the house, which belongs to my sister. She never humidified it, so the back cracked and the frets needed dressing. I took it to the guitar shop (Melodee Music in Sterling, VA) where they did a very good job and now I "foster" the instrument. 

My other guitar is an American Series Breedlove D/SRe-H. I like to play around with ukuleles and a vihuela, and tried mandolin which was a disaster. So I leave that to my friend who is excellent at it. We have a band, The Constituents, in which we play for fun at community and political events.

I'm in politics, but I promise I won't discuss it here.  ;)  Suffice it to say, that my band's biggest audience was at one of our governors' inaugural years ago.

Thanks for this forum!

Ingrid
612ce 12-fret
GS Mini
Pavan classical
G-String solid koa concert uke
Ohana solid wood concert uke
Kala tenor uke
Kamaka tenor uke

jjrpilot-admin

• UTGF Owner
  • Administrator
  • Veteran Member
Re: New to the forum, not new to Taylor
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2012, 12:08:15 AM »
Hi Ingrid! Welcome to the UTGF!   ;D  thanks for sharing your story, make yourself at home! ;)
Col 1:15 "that in everything He might be preeminent."
2016 324 (Mahogany top/Tasmanian Blackwood b&s)
2017 Gibson J-45 Standard

CodeBlueEMT

• Veteran Member
  • In Dog Beers, I've Only Had One