Author Topic: A review of GuitarMoose Stickygrip Picks...  (Read 2901 times)

Captain Jim

• Veteran Member
A review of GuitarMoose Stickygrip Picks...
« on: December 04, 2012, 07:34:29 PM »
Along with discovering the delights of Taylor guitars this year, I have also been expanding my picks horizons.  I have been playing for 48 years (that makes me feel old when I write that), and until recently, felt a pick was a pick.  I've been using Wabash blues (similar to a Fender medium) for most of those years.  After playing with Gravity Picks, V-Picks, and a host of "home-grown" acrylic picks, I am sold on the fact that a good pick does make a difference... both in the feel and the sound.

I recently received my first order of GuitarMoose Sticktgrip Picks.  The thing that sets them apart is the cushioned grip on the top half of the pick, AND the "sticky" surface, much like the feel of a Post-It Note.

Here's a look at the picks...

Nice presentation!  Each pick is stuck to a business card - smart!

But, does the grip make a difference?  Thanks for asking... yes.  In fact, after all these years of skinny picks, this just felt... well, odd.  I gave them some more time, and in short order got comfortable with that cushion grip.  I picked up one of my home-made favorites, and it felt... skinny.

I really haven't had a problem with "moist" (sounds better than sweaty) hands and dropping picks.  But, if that was a concern, these would likely eliminate that.  I've read about a few folks here who have arthritis... these picks do require less grip, making them easier to hold.

How about the "sticky" part?  On their website, GuitarMoose shows the pick stuck to the top of a guitar.  I was thinking, "No way am I sticking anything on that beautiful finish on my Taylor's!"  Not to worry - like a Post-It Note, there is no residue... nothing left behind when you lift the pick off the surface of the guitar.

But, it does hold...