Author Topic: Veteran's Day  (Read 1054 times)

BigSkyTaylorPlayer

• Veteran Member
  • Are we there yet.....
Veteran's Day
« on: November 11, 2012, 08:50:19 AM »
Happy Veteran's Day to all!  Thank you for your service!

US Army
1982-1986

GtrgRrl

Re: Veteran's Day
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 07:10:06 PM »
I have always been thankful to those who have served our country, but I must say that in recent months I have become even more grateful. 

To all our soldiers and veterans, I salute you.
“Music is a language that doesn’t speak in particular words. It speaks in emotions, and if it’s in the bones, it’s in the bones.”   Keith Richards

www.portlandmusiccompany.com

CodeBlueEMT

• Veteran Member
  • In Dog Beers, I've Only Had One
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 10:14:27 PM »
 I'm a vet (USAF) and I'd like to thank all of the men and women currently serving in our armed forces.

I knew this guy named Jack Parker (not his real last name). Jack was a terrible drunk and a WWII vet. When I first met Jack, he was at his worse. I think Jack wanted to drink himself to death and he nearly succeeded several times. Jack was retired law enforcement, 20 years on the job. I won't reveal where he worked, but the initials are NCHP. He was a big man, 6'4", 250 lbs. Jack would get sober, then not so sober. His drinking and ETOH withdrawal complications had gotten progressively worse.

The last time I saw Jack Parker, he was sober and looked happy. Probably because he had somehow managed to stay sober for a few years. I was curious. What happened to make a hopeless alcoholic stop drinking? I had to ask.

Jack Parker landed on a beach in Normandy, France on June 6, 1944. Part of Operation Overlord. D-Day. He fought for his life while his friends were being slaughtered. Somehow, he kept fighting and managed to survive.

Jack returned from overseas with plenty of demons. A lifetime of demons. Demons you can't drink, ignore, or chase away.