Author Topic: Keyboardist branching out!  (Read 1707 times)

KeyOfZ

Keyboardist branching out!
« on: July 14, 2012, 07:47:43 PM »
Hey everyone,

First of all, my compliments on a lively and informative forum community around these parts.

I'm a semi-pro keyboard player full time, but have dabbled with acoustic guitar since high school. At the time, I primarily did so to make better attempts at translating "guitarist speak" in garage bands.  ;D

Now, as a more mature musician, I've found myself having more opportunities to double on acoustic but without the axe to do so. After lots and lots of searching, I kept coming back to Taylor. I love Bob's dedication to quality craftsmanship and sustainable "forest husbandry". In fact, I knew I was sold on Taylor when I heard the legend of the "pallet guitar".

All that is to say that I need some help with my first Taylor purchase. A buddy of mine has a 2005 512ce (trop mahogany/engelmann) that he's willing to sell me. I would be the 3rd owner. The guitar is in nice overall condition, gigged fairly consistently but always kept smoke free. It has a few noticeable dings in the finish on the upper/lower bouts that don't crack the top wood, and various other small nicks here and there. It also recently underwent a major repair at the hands of Taylor guitar techs. Somebody dropped it on its binding edge, creating a 4-6 in. gash in the tonewood. Taylor, of course, took beautiful care of it and restored it with only a slightly darker "rash" in the mahogany where the gash was. In the process of fixing the gash, Taylor also reset the neck and refreshed the guitar in various ways, including updating the ES to the current version.