Author Topic: Lessons, or self taught?  (Read 19072 times)

not darth

• Veteran Member
  • Near the lake in Minnesota.
Lessons, or self taught?
« on: December 15, 2011, 10:55:24 AM »
Did you start out taking lessons or did you just pick up the guitar and start learning on your own?
Except for three lessons almost twenty years ago, I have been trying to learn on my own. 

If self taught, did you set up any sort of curriculum for yourself or have you just worked on random things each time you practice?
I'm sure my progress would be faster with lessons but it just won't work with my schedule right now, so I'd like to find a way to maximize my practice sessions.
Thanks, -K
Member #34
I'm not darth.

pacmktg

Re: Lessons, or self taught?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 11:41:11 AM »
I use Learn and Master Guitar by Steve Krenz and a scattering of a few lessons.
Eat dessert first.
214CE
Charvel LP
Hand built Tele by me

michaelw

• Veteran Member
  • with more frivolous trivia than most infomercials
    • i agree with Fred
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2011, 01:01:39 PM »
i tried a few basic beginner books when i started & then pretty much
just went to the internet for tabs of songs i wanted  to learn how to play -
i had some piano background way-back & some it was i able to apply (1-4-5)

i asked a friend to help me find a chord progression for a song i was learning &
which turned into 'a lesson' & it was very difficult to follow what he was doing,
as he knew what it was & he wanted me to mirror what he was doing exactly

i've found that playing to a track, especially if you have a 2 channel amp & can run the CD/mp3
(audio) & the guitar in & setting the guitar level slightly higher, getting a 'feel' for it is easier

also, just being able to jam with others can be a great way to learn & move forward -
during the time that i played rhythm acoustic at the church i attended, i found that my