Author Topic: What Else Do You Do?  (Read 2596 times)

Shutterbug

• Veteran Member
What Else Do You Do?
« on: January 29, 2021, 10:48:56 AM »
Probably pretty evident that everyone here is into guitars to one degree or another but, despite what you may have been led to believe, there's more to life than guitars.

So, for you, what else is it?

I'm a photographer. I do it as a professional but also as a hobby. It meshes well with the fact that another hobby I have is I also like to travel. In 2018 I visited Ireland, and in 2019 I went to Italy and Scotland. My daughter and I were supposed to go to Belgium last year, but that got put off to this year. Well, we're not going this year, either, but the "travel jones" has not relented, so it'll be road trips for me this year (I made one last year, as well). I hope to drive the four longest roads in the United States by the end of the year. I leave on the first trip April 1.

So, aside from guitars, my hobbies are pretty much photography and travel. I also collect old cameras, Kodak memorabilia and nice watches.

So, what are you into?
The world is like a book, and he who does not travel only reads a single page...

Earl

• Veteran Member
  • Quando omni flunkus moritati
Re: What Else Do You Do?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2021, 11:46:36 AM »
Most of mine are "done", not "do currently".  In addition to guitar and ukulele (ran a club for 12+ years until last fall) I practice tai chi regularly.  Before my rotator cuff injury two years ago this weekend and the subsequent surgery, we liked to flat water kayak a lot, but that is permanently over now.  Just cannot bring myself to selling the kayaks yet.  I also used to be a serious target pistol competitor and instructor.  I spent over 35 years in various martial arts until nagging injuries eventually forced me out.  We also liked to scuba dive in tropical places.  Oh yes, I was a photographer too (photojournalism mostly but some art too).  Put that away more than 25 years ago.