Author Topic: Camera Recommendation...  (Read 1102 times)

Shutterbug

• Veteran Member
Camera Recommendation...
« on: June 29, 2020, 06:56:16 PM »
I'm a professional photographer. I shoot Canon DSLR's and lenses and, as much I love the images I can make with them, the reality is that it's getting tougher and tougher to lug that gear around the older I get. I'm only 58, so it's not like it's killing me, but I've found I just don't have the patience for lugging it through airports and trying to fit my bag in an overhead bin.

Last year, on a trip to Scotland, my daughter turned me onto a camera she'd purchased. I was dragging along one of my Canon 6D's, and she was carrying this little retro lookin' thing. I have to admit, it was cool.

But could it hack it?

Surely this camera would not be able to satisfy the pro in me; that guy who'd gotten use to producing print-ready images for CD's, DVD's and magazine covers. Surely it wouldn't do that.

But it did.

I bought the Fuji X100F last August, for a trip I was taking to New York with my lady in October.

I've been to New York City literally hundreds of times, so I certainly didn't need to bring the DSLR to capture it again. Be that as it may, I wish I'd spent more time getting into the manual a bit before we went, and I was only mildly satisfied with most of the images I got. Some were very good, most were... fine. Honestly, I was getting better pictures with my iPhone Xr.

Then I started paying attention to what the camera could do, and learning how to make it work for me. My "keeper rate" skyrocketed. I'm now really pleased with this camera, and it's now the camera I grab whenever I leave the house. It's a bit more limited than my Canons, in that it has a fixed 23mm lens, but it's a fast lens; an f/2!