Author Topic: Loop Pedal  (Read 926 times)

DBCooper

Loop Pedal
« on: June 08, 2020, 02:34:53 PM »
I'm not a professional musician, but I'd love to do some loops (I think it would be great practice).  Guessing no more than 4 tracks.

How does that work?  Can you keep them separate, or do they all become 1 track....once you advance to the next loop?

How much are these things?

Thanks.

Jeff

Tinker Taylor

Re: Loop Pedal
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2020, 05:42:28 AM »
I'm a home-only player and use a looper that's built in to a ZOOM G5n multi-effects, but I've also used a BOSS RC-3 and a TC Electronic Ditto X2. I think BOSS (RC-30? and possibly others) do loopers with multi-tracks, but the ones I've mentioned have no separation between the tracks, or layers... other than to allow 'undo' and 'redo' of the last recorded layer. Unless you really want to separate the tracks for recording, the simpler loopers are great fun and all offer similar functionality. I use the G5n because it has unlimited overdubs, 80 seconds mono looping, or 40 seconds stereo (either of which is enough for me to practice with) and it has the option of 60 rhythm tracks that 'quantize' the loops - I use the simpler tracks, more like you might a metronome, purely to assist with timing.