Author Topic: Hello from sunny California  (Read 968 times)

MelissaM

Hello from sunny California
« on: February 12, 2018, 11:45:06 AM »
Hi!

I started playing guitar 6 months ago. I borrowed a friend’s guitar while I figured out if I’d stick with it, which took all of about 2 strums! I bought a nice used electric guitar from my local music shop, which I absolutely love l, but I have been drawn to acoustic guitars too.

A couple of weeks ago I went to the same local music shop after my lesson and tried their wide selection of acoustic guitars. I really liked the Yamaha FS800 they had — it was comfortable to play, sounded nice, and was a decent price. I kept going back to it, but I had no intention of buying that day.

Then I went to their used rack, and they had a Taylor 114. It was love at first strum! Easy to play, sounded divine, in mint condition, and priced right.  What’s not to like? The Yamaha was nice, but there was just something about the Taylor! I did my acid test: if someone else were to buy this, how would I feel? Well, the answer was very, very bummed. So I chatted with the salesman for a bit, all the while quietly trying different chords, fingerpicking, etc. in my limited repertoire, and finally told him, “I think I have to buy this!”

I haven’t regretted my decision for a second!

I will say that while it was easier to play than a lot of the acoustics I tried, it’s still harder than my electric. For example, with the F chord, if I get my index finger anywhere near the first fret, the chord rings out — it’s like I’m cheating. On the Taylor I have to work a bit harder. I think in the end it’ll help me be a better player.

I thought I’d built up enough calluses from playing my electric, but I find my fingers are back to being very sore. Sometimes they get so sore I can’t hold down chords, so I’ll grab my electric so I can keep practicing.

All in all, I’m very happy to join the Taylor family!

-Melissa

Coyoteone

Re: Hello from sunny California