Author Topic: Hello everyone  (Read 1355 times)

Grum

Hello everyone
« on: November 11, 2017, 10:01:04 AM »
Hi All. Newbie here from Essex (UK).
I have only recently started to learn to play and bought a used 114E. This was about a year ago. I practice and practice but struggle like anything. This may be because I am not very good or maybe at 59 picking up the guitar for the first time is a slow process. Anyway, I am enjoying plodding along in my own little world. I spoke to the wife about my next years birthday (60) and have persuaded her to buy me a 1998 812C. Now I am not allowed to see or even touch this one until the big day but I am determined that when I open the box, I can do it justice. So I have one year to get it together . . .  This 812C is a mighty carrot which is going to taste so sweet.

mgap

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
Re: Hello everyone
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017, 10:33:46 AM »
Welcome to the forum Grum.  That is a great motivator.  Makes you eager to turn 60.  Good luck on the learning process, it is a gas.  BTW, my first Taylor was a 110, I loved it.
He who loses money, loses much; he who loses a friend, loses more; he who loses faith, loses all.

Soof

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2017, 10:31:57 PM »
Hey Grum, Welcome !

Being 59 shouldn't pose any problem for you playing guitar.
I stopped in '93 and didn't start again till last year.  I'm now 72.
The only problem I now have, that I didn't when I was younger, is arthritis in my hands and wrists.
Some days it shortens my playing time. But it's no big deal.

So carry! As long as you enjoy playing guitar then you're good to go!

And yes, I think Taylor's 100 series is an excellent guitar.  I have a 110e proto with a mahogany top.  I love the "mellow yellow"sound.  Ah, make that "mellow" sound.  I.m a Donovan fan !!!
Martin D-20 12 string (1970)
Yamaha APX500III
Taylor 110e Prototype (2016)
Fender Squier Vintage Modified 70s Tele
Reville MV-XM (actually a very nice Gibson copy!)