Author Topic: Playing with hearing aids  (Read 5819 times)

fgr814

Playing with hearing aids
« on: December 26, 2016, 06:17:26 PM »
Hi, merry christmas to everybody

I've been playing guitar (both acoustic and electric) for many years (non proffesional, but still going on)
In my youth I used to play with cheap amplifiers (the only ones I could afford) and I had to raise the volume to non-healthy levels in order to cut through.
I remember having tinnitus for a couple of days!

As a result of that and probably due to some genetic predisposition, I've been suffering from hearing loss in the latest years (I'm now in my fifties)

Following the doctor's advice I'm now testing hearing aids and suddenly a new world has opened to me. I can now hear conversations in a noisy environment, I have no longer to say "what?" a thousand times a day and I can hear music while driving without deafening my daughter when I take her to the  campus in the morning.

The problem is playing guitar at home. The sound I hear is different to I was used to. Not better or worse, simply different. The highs are more metallic, and I've had to change my fingerpicking technique because now i hear a lot of nail noise

The doctor tells me it's a matter of time, as I've been many years hearing 'badly' and have to get used to ma new hearing abilities, but I'd like to share experiencies if someone else in this forum is passing or has passed trough the same process

Please excuse me for my bad english
« Last Edit: December 26, 2016, 06:19:47 PM by fgr814 »
Taylor 814ce
Taylor 150e
Taylor GS mini-e koa
Martin '93 D-28
Martin '03 00028EC
Martin 1937 0-17H
Arturo Sanzano nylon classical
...and a bunch of electrics

MTLeonard

• Veteran Member
Re: Playing with hearing aids
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2016, 05:31:58 PM »