Author Topic: Guitar Drama...(weird NGD for 322e 12-fret)  (Read 2031 times)

jrowe

Guitar Drama...(weird NGD for 322e 12-fret)
« on: January 11, 2018, 10:20:46 AM »
As I posted in the intro forum, I'm new to Taylors. I had purchased a 510e from Sweetwater around Christmas and when it arrived it had a small spot of finish missing on the soundhole binding and the 2nd string tuner had a lot of play in it. Sweetwater was awesome to swap it out, however the replacement was worse than the original. It turns out it had been mistakenly returned to "new" stock after being with someone for a while. That person did not do it any favors. This guitar stunk (literally and figuratively)...it smelled like someone's B.O. and stale cigarettes. Also, they had messed around w/ the truss rod and the action was nearly 3 mil. at the 12th fret, and had swapped the strings doing a messy job on the slothead. Ugh.

Actually, at this point i was just sick of the 510e anyway, and decided to move back to a smaller body which is what made me fall in love with Taylor anyway. I do like short scale, so I decided to get a 322e 12-fret and I really couldn't be happier. I should have ordered this in the first place (but I thought I wanted a dread). So, I saved $xx and got a guitar I like better ultimately.

Here is a short clip of it:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pc_MkrC-gkI

$, per forum rules
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 09:05:32 PM by TaylorGirl »
322e 12-fret (Mahogany/Tasmanian Blackwood)
3 John 2

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
  • 7 Mountain Dulcimers!
Re: Guitar Drama...(weird NGD for 322e 12-fret)
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 11:28:09 AM »
A long way to get there, but it sounds like you are really happy. Congrats! :)
Susie
Taylors: 914 ○ K24ce ○ 414 ○ GSMeK+
Pono Guileles: Mango Baritone Deluxe ○ Mahogany Baritone

Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!

Strumming Fool

• Veteran Member
  • Christi simus non nostri