Author Topic: New Taylor Player  (Read 1141 times)

jrowe

New Taylor Player
« on: December 29, 2017, 02:24:20 PM »
Hi everyone,
I'm Jayson from Wake Forest, NC and a student at Southeastern Seminary here.

I'm new to the Taylor community. I've been lifelong Martin player with some Gibsons thrown in, but I never gave Taylor much of a chance. Recently, I bought a 224ce-k DLX on a whim, and while that guitar ended up going back to GC (the Koa wasn't for me) it sold me on Taylor playability. I started researching the line more, and the more I learned, the more impressed I was (with the guitars, with Bob Taylor and with Andy Powers). I decided the new revoiced 510e would suit me and my playing style. I hoped it would be some sort of blend of a D18 and a J45 (my two favorite Martin and Gibsons) and it sure was! I'm in guitar heaven.
I think my next Taylor (for fingerstyle) will be a 612ce 12-fret, but I'll have to save some more pennies first  8)

Here is a short video I recorded just a short time after unboxing my 510e yesterday.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KASYD2qQlA
322e 12-fret (Mahogany/Tasmanian Blackwood)
3 John 2

TaylorGirl

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
  • 7 Mountain Dulcimers!
Re: New Taylor Player
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2017, 02:53:49 PM »
Welcome to the forum, Jayson!
I think the Taylor playability has lured many of us down this road.
Nice video!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2017, 03:59:02 PM by TaylorGirl »
Susie
Taylors: 914 ○ K24ce ○ 414 ○ GSMeK+
Pono Guileles: Mango Baritone Deluxe ○ Mahogany Baritone

Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!

Strumming Fool

• Veteran Member
  • Christi simus non nostri
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2017, 03:29:27 PM »
Welcome Jayson-

You really make that 510 sing! So glad you could join us....
My Taylor Grand Auditoriums:

1997 Cujo14 - old growth cedar/black walnut
2014 K24e - master grade koa
2018 Custom GA - bear claw sitka spruce/mahogany
2019 614 - torrified sitka spruce/flamed maple